December 10, 2013

  • A letter to the Xanga Team | oburi

    A letter to the Xanga Team | oburi.

    Zakiah dug up some of the contact information for John on the Xanga Team, since the Team seems to have disappeared into the sunset. Here it is for you.

    Xanga.com
    Xanga Com, Inc
    555 8th Avenue # 910
    New York, NY 10018 – View Map

    john@Xanga.net

    Phone: (212) 695-4940

    While I’m not much of a phone-talker, I can definitely email up a storm. And that’s exactly what I did:

    So you met your fundraising goal and moved some of us to the new WordPress platform. Great. Awesome.

    Perhaps you would care to explain why users that’d had Premium accounts before the move still aren’t able to access their accounts. Or why the Xanga Team seems to have disappeared almost immediately after the move. Even Xanga’s Facebook page has gone silent. Seriously, what the fuck is going on?

    It’s ridiculous that you’re charging users for the bullshit you’ve “given” us. You’ve completely disabled the communication that had once made Xanga so amazing. We don’t get notifications when someone responds to a comment on a post. Hell, we can’t even reply to people directly from our own posts. We have to open up two windows; one for the dashboard so we can reply, and one for the actual post so we can read the entire comment. We no longer have private messaging, we can’t customize our themes, we literally can’t do ANYTHING that we used to be able to do. And yet you charge us money for this.

    You do realize that the basic free WordPress has so much more to offer us, right? While we don’t get private messaging, and I can live with that, really, at least we get notifications and the ability to actually communicate with people. And we can choose from just about any theme or customize our own.

    Any legitimate business would have given us a preview of what the new platform would’ve looked like before asking its users for money. Speaking of money, Google says that Xanga has an annual revenue of between $500k-1m. Why on earth would you need users to donate to the platform transition if you’re making that much money?

    I can assure you that nearly all of the people that had donated money and remained loyal to Xanga are incredibly dissatisfied with your “product.” I will not be renewing my subscription, nor will the vast majority of your users. Your fundraiser was a scam, plain and simple. You and your team should be disgusted with yourselves. I suggest you all get off your ample asses and do something to fix this.

    I urge you all to blow up his email and phone. It may or may not do any good, but at least he’ll know how deeply unsatisfied we all are.

Comments (53)

  • Terrific posts from you, fellow. I’ve figured out your point and you’re simply quite excellent.
    I really like what you've got here, actually like what you’re saying
    and also the way in which you say it. You make
    it enjoyable. I cant wait to read a lot more from you.
    This is genuinely an excellent website.

  • I like this website a lot, saved to favorites.

  • I'm so thrilled that I came across your website.
    You certainly know what you're speaking of, and you made me feel like I
    need to learn more about this.

  • Millions of prospective tenants use Craigslist to locate free classified adds
    on rental homes and apartments.

  • - Capacite bol : 4L. - Puissance : 600 W.- Vitesses : 6 + beat.
    - Colori : Silver.

  • I have to thank you for the efforts you have put
    in writing this site. I'm hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well.

    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own blog now
    ;)

  • Wow, amazing weblog structure! How long have you
    ever been blogging for? you make blogging look easy.
    The whole glance of your site is magnificent, as well as the content!

  • Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you
    discuss and would love to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  • Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I'm still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers?
    I'd certainly appreciate it.

  • I am not sure where you are getting your information,
    but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  • Quality articles is the main to invite the visitors to pay a visit
    the web site, that's what this website is providing.

  • I visit every day some blogs and sites to read content, however this website presents feature based posts.

  • Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you really understand what you are speaking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my site =). We may have a hyperlink trade agreement between us

  • Hey very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I'll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I am glad to search out numerous helpful information here within the
    publish, we need work out more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  • Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I'm impressed!

    Extremely useful info particularly the last part :)
    I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  • Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot
    of spam remarks? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it's driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  • Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog
    and I'm inspired! Very helpful information specifically the closing section :)
    I deal with such information much. I used to be looking for this particular information for a long time.

    Thanks and best of luck.

  • Right now it seems like BlogEngine is the preferred blogging platform
    out there right now. (from what I've read) Is that what
    you are using on your blog?

  • Hey would you mind letting me know which
    hosting company you're working with? I've loaded your blog in 3 different
    internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider
    at a fair price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  • It is not my first time to visit this website,
    i am visiting this website dailly and take pleasant information from here all the time.

  • Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.
    That is an extremely neatly written article. I'll be sure to bookmark it and return to read
    extra of your useful information. Thanks for the
    post. I will definitely return.

  • Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to get
    my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Cheers!

  • Good web site you have got here.. It's hard to find quality writing
    like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  • The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  • It's amazing in favor of me to have a site, which is useful for my know-how.
    thanks admin

  • Excellent way of telling, and pleasant post to get information regarding my presentation focus, which
    i am going to present in institution of higher education.

  • Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I've really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I
    hope you write once more soon!

  • Very nice blog post. I certainly appreciate this website.
    Stick with it!

  • These are really impressive ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  • Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  • Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to
    be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could
    take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  • In fact when someone doesn't understand then its up
    to other people that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  • Hi friends, its wonderful post about teachingand entirely defined,
    keep it up all the time.

  • Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to
    mention that I have truly loved browsing your weblog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write once more
    very soon!

  • Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I'd figured I'd ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?

    My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  • Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard
    work due to no data backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  • excellent points altogether, you just gained a new reader.

    What might you recommend in regards to your publish that you just made some days in the past?
    Any positive?

  • Hello all, here every person is sharing such knowledge, therefore
    it's pleasant to read this website, and I used to pay a visit this blog all the time.

  • Hi there to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your
    views are pleasant for new viewers.

  • If you are going for most excellent contents like me, only go to see this site every day because it presents
    quality contents, thanks

  • Shit, the post named 'Mekah Menke' was by me. For some reason Xanga keeps making me have to sign in ALL the fucking time even though I click the 'remember me' box... I don't know anymore... If I hadn't been a member for so long I probably would've given up and never used my Xanga ever again. I'll continue updating but there is no way in hell that I'll be paying anymore cash!

  • I can't believe the utter shit Xanga has turned into... I've had a Xanga blog for almost 11 years!
    Man... I feel so TRICKED and scammed of my money! Xanga just tricked us out of our cash! FUCKERS! I still don't understand why they had to change everything sooo much... Like, why couldn't they just keep everything the same?! There was really NO REASON to do any of the pointless crap that they've done... *huff*

  • Well done. Fully agree. This is a sad place now.

  • Meh, I can't even recommend your excellent post! GRRRRRRRR!

  • One thing retail has taught me it's to be less judgmental, and a lot more patient with others. Having said that I still agree with what you've said here. I am not at all happy with Xanga 2.0. I can't see myself renewing my sub. I have a wordpress account and it works a lot better than this.

    I don't know that John has done all, some, or any of the bad things he's being accused of here, but that is a moot point. We don't feel like a community with this new Xanga. I'd rather let Xanga go if I have to settle for such a poor second coming of Xanga.

  • I totally agree a person has to back track to places they have commented to see if a comment has been returned it is really a pain

  • Thanks Erica - we should all just copy your email and re-email the team...

  • Apparently ‘John’ was too busy to reply, what with stowing the cash in a water-proof bag for the bahamas trip.

  • I'm glad this is making the rounds.
    Thank you for sharing it.
    HUGS!!!

  • wish there was a way to rec. gooooooo you!!!

  • Erika, I couldn't have said anything better. You have voiced all our concerns. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment