May 6, 2012

  • Who Knew?

    I decided to help John with his fine motor skills by teaching him to use scissors.  I was struggling with the task so I found a video on-line and John figured it out by watching the video.  I had no intention of him seeing the video, he is just nosy.    Soon, he was cutting fairly well.  He can use the scissors with either hand.  I am beginning to suspect that his motor skills are not the problem, I think he just doesn't like his special ed teacher for some reason.  I don't know why.  If the behavior continues, I may have to request that he work with the younger lady that he was making flirty eyes at or just someone else.  It's a shame because I do like her.  However, I am digressing.  I told my mother about what we were doing and she wanted to know what I did "that" for.  "That" being teaching John to use scissors when I already knew that he liked to rip paper into tiny microscopic pieces.  I told her that he isn't exactly all that great with cutting paper so if he is working on something he needs help with while doing something he likes, I am happy.  Well, today my floor was covered in tiny pieces of paper.  I vacuumed it all up only for it to accumulate again.  Who knew my mother would come up something sane?

    When he gets better with holding the scissors correctly, I will teach him to cut out specific shapes.  Until then, I may be buried underneath a mountain of scissored paper.
     


    Only John could make duck lips look cute.
     

Comments (11)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment